Currie Cup 2014 rugby: Be at EP Kings vs Western Province on Friday

  • 06 August 2014 | By Roy Barford

Action in the 2013 Super 15 match between the Southern Kings and the Stormers. Photo courtesy of Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium

Luke Watson will captain the EP Kings in their opening 2014 Currie Cup rugby match against Western Province at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Friday night. The match kicks off at 19h10 and tickets are available at the gate for R55.

Watson makes a long-awaited return from injury, having not played since early 2013. His father Cheeky is well known for the part he played in promoting mixed race rugby by defying apartheid laws to play club rugby in the townships of the Eastern Cape during the 1970s and '80s.

The Western Province team includes Springboks Tiaan Liebenberg, Pat Cilliers, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi and Juan de Jongh, as well as the very exciting young Cheslin Kolbe, who will start at fullback. 

For further information about Friday night's match, contact Eastern Province Rugby on +27 (0)41 408 8902.

The teams are listed below, courtesy of

EP Kings – 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Ronnie Cooke, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 Gary van Aswegen, 9 Tobie Botes, 8 Luke Watson (c), 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Thembelani Bholi, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Steven Cummins, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka/BG Uys.
Subs: 16 Albe de Swardt, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Darron Nell, 19 Aidon Davis, 20 Kevin Luiters, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Ntabeni Dukisa.

Western Province – 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Manuel Carizza, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Subs: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 Jean Kleyn, 19 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Robert du Preez, 22 Pat Howard.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Featured Posts